February 4, 2020
February 4, 2020

What are chakras?


The chakras are energy points or centres in our bodies in and out of which energy flows. In Sanskrit chakra means wheel so you could imagine them to be spinning wheels or vortexes of energy. Just as you have memories stored in your brain, your chakras are mini data centres where everything that has happened to you is stored. Each centre houses specific experiences. How cool is that to have your own mini you library stored in areas of your body? I also believe that they hold keys to our future selves too.

Just as we have a physical body, chakras can be likened to our spiritual body. Each one acts like a window to the soul and will feed information back to you about the state of your health and life. The health and energetic vibration of each chakra is influenced by the energies that surround you and the energy you project from your thoughts and feelings. This shows up in how you feel and experience life.

The heart chakra

Heart chakra

This chakra is located behind the breastbone in front and on the spine between the shoulder blades in back. This is about your right to love and be loved.

Colours green or pink. Element – air. Gemini, Libra and Aquarius are air element signs. Planet – Venus. The right to love and be loved. Emotion – grief. Endocrine gland – Thymus. Spine – T4 to T2. Age 22-28.


This chakra is about love, self-love, compassion, forgiveness, understanding, generosity, empathy, kindness and connections to other’s hearts. This is the centre of love and is connected to your relationships with family, lovers, friends, and animals. This is where the physical and spiritual chakras meet and is the gateway between them. As you work to heal and balance the chakras below, this enables the hurts held here to also be healed. By learning to let go of the pain and grief, you will be able to open your heart to new experiences and love.


When this chakra is balanced, you feel open, kind, receptive, giving, forgiving, accepting, and connected in a loving way to both yourself and other people. You feel sincere gratitude and appreciation for your life. You feel the love flowing through your life, you will think about how you give and receive love. And when you feel on the same wavelength with someone, it is because you have a heart connection.


In terms of manifesting what you want, the gratitude and appreciation you feel here will support you to get more of what you want.

Heart chakra – Grief

The heart chakra is blocked by grief and closes down our right to love and be loved. Releasing grief creates a balanced heart, that means we can offer acceptance and compassion to others and ourselves. It is the place that allows for vulnerability and welcomes in love. Ask what you are sad about? What are your losses? Dealing with loss is a hard thing to do indeed. Consider this, love is energy, and that lost love is reborn in the form of new love. Ask yourself what the deepest, most painful loss you ever experienced is? A loss of a job/career/business? A loss of health? A loss of a friend or a loved one? The loss of love? How did you ever get over it? Are you maybe still holding on to it? Our hearts feel and experience the pain of grief and loss physically, emotionally, energetically and spiritually. It is the gateway to unconditional love within us and to others around us.


Connect with your heart chakra by bringing to mind someone you love, let these feelings surge through your body. Now bring to mind something that you love about you and feel your heart expand with self-love. Connect your roots to Mother Earth and breathe into your heart before you write.

Inner peace

Sit quietly before you write and connect with everything that you love about you and your life. Open your heart, breath love in and out. Feel yourself connecting with a pot of loving-kindness.

Journaling prompts

  • What are ten things you love about being you?
  • In what ways do you hold back from embracing self-love, and what is one thing that you could do to love yourself today?
  • In what ways can you be kinder to yourself and others today?
  • What things have you not grieved and let go of? Think of ways to do this and when you are ready, start the letting go process.
  • When you think about forgiveness, how does it make you feel? Where do you need to forgive yourself or others? Perhaps you would like to apologise to a part of you that needs to hear these words today?
  • How can you let more love into your life?


I love, and I am love

Grab your copy of a Chakra Journaling Book here

My mission is to encourage and empower you to step into the wisdom of your heart and embrace self-love, self-worth and confidence so that you discover that all-important inner peace.