February 1, 2021
February 1, 2021

What are chakras?


The chakras are energy points or centres in our bodies in and out of which energy flows. In Sanskrit chakra means wheel so you could imagine them to be spinning wheels or vortexes of energy. Just as you have memories stored in your brain, your chakras are mini data centres where everything that has happened to you is stored. Each centre houses specific experiences. How cool is that to have your own mini you library stored in areas of your body? I also believe that they hold keys to our future selves too.

Just as we have a physical body, chakras can be likened to our spiritual body. Each one acts like a window to the soul and will feed information back to you about the state of your health and life. The health and energetic vibration of each chakra is influenced by the energies that surround you and the energy you project from your thoughts and feelings. This shows up in how you feel and experience life.

The root chakra

The root chakra is located at the base of the spine at the tailbone in the back, and the pubic bone in front. The right of this chakra is simply to be here. It is the first of our three physical chakras.

Colour red. Element earth. Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn are earth element signs. Planet – Saturn. The right to be here. Emotion – fear. Endocrine gland – Gonads. Spine – The coccyx (tailbone). Age 0-7


The root chakra is about your needs for survival, security, safety, trust, belonging, health and wellbeing, family, past life issues home and money. This is where you will want to create a home, not only to live in but your home on earth and the home you make in your body. When we think of the root chakra, we think of grounding and connecting with Mother Earth. Which is where we get the beautifully vibrant, abundant earth colours of red, brown and black. This chakra supports the upward flow of energy from Mother Earth.


When balanced, you feel grounded in the present and able to confidently release the fears that hold you back from growing into who you want to become. You will feel safe and secure in yourself, you’ll trust yourself and the decisions you make. Home feels welcoming and cosy, you feel like you belong. You get enormous satisfaction from being in nature and breathing in fresh air. Balancing this chakra lays the foundations for the chakras above it.


When you have healthy roots and foundations, you have a great base from which to manifest what you want in life. You will trust that abundance is available to you and feel at home asking for what you want.

Root chakra – Fear

This chakra is blocked by fear which closes down our right to be here. When you identity fear and the roots of it, you will begin to understand how you can start to eliminate it. Ask yourself what you are afraid of the most, and what is the worst that can happen? Who will you be when you feel safe and secure? When you move along the fear-love spectrum towards love, you will find that you will release more fear because you cannot hold onto both at once.

Journaling prompts

  • How connected do you feel to your body? As you scan your body, what do you notice, and what is this telling you?
  • What are some fears that you have that you not letting go of?
  • What were and are your relationships with your family like? What patterns do you notice when you interact? Do you like them? Do you need or want to change them? What do you love about your family?
  • When you question your right to be here, what do you notice and how do you feel? What does this teach me?
  • In what ways do you feel supported to get what you want in life?
  • How secure are your foundations? Do you feel balanced and able to stand firm?


I am safe and fully supported in all that I do

Grab your copy of the Root Chakra Journaling Book here

My mission is to encourage and empower you to step into the wisdom of your heart, and embrace self-love, self-worth and confidence so that you discover that all-important inner peace.