February 3, 2020
February 3, 2020

What are chakras?


The chakras are energy points or centres in our bodies in and out of which energy flows. In Sanskrit chakra means wheel so you could imagine them to be spinning wheels or vortexes of energy. Just as you have memories stored in your brain, your chakras are mini data centres where everything that has happened to you is stored. Each centre houses specific experiences. How cool is that to have your own mini you library stored in areas of your body? I also believe that they hold keys to our future selves too.

Just as we have a physical body, chakras can be likened to our spiritual body. Each one acts like a window to the soul and will feed information back to you about the state of your health and life. The health and energetic vibration of each chakra is influenced by the energies that surround you and the energy you project from your thoughts and feelings. This shows up in how you feel and experience life.

Solar Plexus – Identity and the right to act

solar plexus chakra
Solar Plexus Chakra

Connect and be one with the power of your inner energy

This chakra is located two inches below the breastbone behind the stomach, near your belly button. The right at this chakra is the right to act.

Colour yellow. Element – fire. Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius are fire element signs. Planet – Mars. The right to act. Emotion – shame. Endocrine gland – Adrenals. Spine – L2 to T5. Age 15-21


This chakra is about personal power, confidence, assertiveness, personal boundaries, personal leadership, self-control, and self-esteem. Remember when as a child or young person, you wanted to express your individuality and how that might have felt, this is where you first experienced exerting your will and the right to be you. This chakra right means acting with confidence, honouring your personal values, and bravely taking steps towards goals and intentions.

As your centre of personal power, self-image and self-esteem, this is a beautiful space to allow the warrior or goddess inside of you to shine. At this chakra, you are called to listen to your intuition (gut feelings) rather than listening to outside voices and using your will to achieve what you desire. It’s also about taking responsibility for choosing how you want to live your life.


When this chakra is balanced, you feel confident in who you are, assertive and motivated. You listen to your gut feelings and trust who you are becoming. You set clear goals, and intentions, you move confidently forward to achieve them. You assert your will in a healthy way because you value your relationship with yourself and others.


In terms of manifesting what you want, this chakra is about who you will become when you have what you want.

Solar plexus chakra – Shame

Your solar plexus chakra is blocked by shame. This shame closes down your connection to your right to act and take action. Releasing shame creates a balanced third chakra which allows self-esteem and self-worth to grow. Ask yourself what you are ashamed of? Often we have shame related to our bodies, eating habits, abilities, sex and things we have done, but would rather forget. When you get caught up in this, you will feel unworthy and unloved. The way to heal this chakra and release shame is to unconditionally accept and believe in yourself. When you start choosing you, this creates the foundations for self-love to grow.


Connect with your solar plexus chakra and tap into the feeling of being at one with yourself. Acknowledge all that you are and will become. Feel the strength of your personal power, lock that into place and tap into it during the day.

Inner peace

Sit quietly before you write and connect with your inner confidence. Where are the moments that make you feel proud to be you? Focus on these, breathe into them and then write.

Journaling prompts for the solar plexus chakra

  • In what areas of your life do you feel confident and worthy?
  • How can you connect with your personal power centre and use this to support your day?
  • How accepting are you that you are unique and different from others? Do you try to blend in, or are you secure in who you are?
  • Describe the areas in your life where you put your needs last and do not honour what you need? What feelings does this bring up for me? What is one thing you can do today to change this?
  • Where have you felt shame? What can you learn from this? What happens when you look at shame from a different perspective?
  • How are you taking responsibility for how you live your life or want to live your life?


I honour and respect who I am as I stand proud in my personal power

Grab your copy of a Chakra Journaling Book here

My mission is to encourage and empower you to step into the wisdom of your heart and embrace self-love, self-worth and confidence so that you discover that all-important inner peace.